Pylontech UP5000
UP5000 · Pylontech
Good to know
A 4.8 kWh LiFePO4 battery made in China.
About 4.6 kWh usable: enough to run a 1 kW load (fridge, lights, TV, Wi-Fi and a laptop together) for about 5 hours.
Gives up to 4.32 kW continuously, 9.6 kW for 15 s.
Warranty: 10 years.
Where to buy
Shops that list this model, by city:
Durban
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solar Supply Durban | UP5000 | R 29 584 | listing |
| Segen Solar (Durban Service Centre) trade | UP5000 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): ARTsolar, ACDC Dynamics (Riverhorse Branch), TechHut.
Johannesburg
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| SegenSolar (West Rand branch) trade | UP5000 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): JC Solar Panels (Enerlux), SunStore (Amperion Energy).
Cape Town
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Segen Solar (Cape Town branch) trade | UP5000 | – | listing |
| TBS Solar | UP5000 | R 20 124 | listing |
| Solar Stock | UP5000 | R 23 500 VAT not stated | listing |
| Solar Sonic | UP5000 | R 27 500 VAT not stated | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): ACDC Dynamics (Cape Town Branch), Bundu Power (Cape Town branch).
How it compares
Where it sits among the 12 home batteries listed here (the best gets a full bar, the weakest a fifth, a figure the datasheet doesn't give none). Size isn't scored: the bars are shares and ratios. Cycle counts are measured at different depths and end points by each maker, so read them as a rough guide.
Datasheet numbers
| Chemistry / form | LiFePO4 / rack |
|---|---|
| Made in | China |
| Energy: nominal / usable | 4.8 kWh / 4.56 kWh |
| Depth of discharge | 95 % |
| Voltage: nominal (range) | 48 V (44.5-53.5 V (charge 52.5-53.5 V)) |
| Max charge / discharge | 90 A / 90 A |
| Continuous / peak power | 4.32 kW / 9.6 kW for 15 s |
| Cycle life | 6000 |
| Warranty | 10 years |
| Parallel units | 16 |
| Communication | RS485, CAN |
| Inverters the maker lists | – |
| Certificates | TÜV, CE, UN38.3 |
| Protection | IP20 |
| Operating temperature | charge 0 to 50 °C; discharge -10 to 50 °C |
| Weight / size | 40 kg / 442 x 420 x 165 mm |
Source: maker's datasheet (Installation manual 5PMPA08-00201 V1.0, section 3.2 Specification (pylontech.com.cn has no standalone UP5000 datasheet any more)).